Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Seeing 3nt periodicity
09-Jan-2015, 08:29 PM
Seeing 3nt periodicity
Hi folks,

Wow this site is exactly what I need. Thank you very much for making this forum available. I am a newbie to the ribosome profiling world. I am a part time grad student and I have recently sequenced my first ribosome profile for a viral infected human cell. Now I am trying my best not to have to call in a card carrying bioinformaticist to fully analyze my data but rather do it myself. And I may fail miserably.

I have use CLCbio and Galaxy tools to some degree. My first goal is to take my data, map it and see if I can detect the "canonical" 3 nucleotide periodicity that many groups can see from their profile.

Any tips or warnings?

My sincere apologies for questions that are dumb or too general. I am an expert in the wet lab but not so much when it comes to bioinformatics. I am trying out RiboGalaxy for the first time today so I will see how that goes.

Thanks

Jason
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-Jan-2015, 08:40 PM
RE: Seeing 3nt periodicity
Hi Jason, welcome to the forum. Incidentally we just opened RiboGalaxy (http://ribogalaxy.ucc.ie) to the public. You have a chance to become the first user. You may or may not see periodicity depending on the protocol. I would say that a better first test would be to count read density in 5'leaders, CDS and 3' UTRs. For the control (mRNAseq) the density should be uniform, for riboseq you should expect CDS>5'leaders>3'UTRs

primus inter pares Angel
09-Feb-2015, 02:37 PM